| PhoneBornUs | From $1.80/mo (12-month plan); OTP numbers from $0.10 per code | USDT, USDC (stablecoins) | None — email and password only | 200 countries | Real mobile numbers (not VoIP) | OTP: automatic refund if no code; plans: 7-day replacement guarantee, full refund to your PhoneBorn balance if never used | Yes — REST API and signed webhooks | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| HeroSMS | Not publicly stated — varies by service and country | Conflicting: crypto only per a third-party review; its official GitHub guide also lists cards, bank transfer and e-wallets | Email and password, per its official GitHub guide | 180+ countries (per its GitHub guide) | Described as non-VoIP virtual numbers | Auto-return to balance if no code in 20 minutes; withdrawals to the original wallet with a fee from 5% (per its rules) | Yes — SMS-Activate-compatible | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| 5SIM | From $0.01 for some services, per its FAQ page — varies by service and country | Crypto, cards and other methods; cards temporarily unavailable in most countries (per its payment pages) | No ID requirement stated; users must confirm they are not US or Russian residents (per its rules) | About 180 countries per its homepage (its FAQ lists 153) | Described as single-use virtual numbers | Automatic refund to balance if no SMS; withdrawals not clearly offered; inactive accounts deleted after 1 year (per its rules and FAQ) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| SMSPool | Not publicly stated on a page we could open — prices vary by service and country | Visa, Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay, iDEAL, UnionPay and crypto; no PayPal (per its FAQ) | Account sign-up; its FAQ says an email is not required. Crypto deposits may be reviewed, according to kycnot.me | 150+ countries (per its FAQ) | Described as non-VoIP | Auto-refund to balance if no SMS; deposits refundable within 14 days only if unspent (per its FAQ) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| PVAPins | Varies by service and country — shown in the dashboard before you confirm | Cards, Apple Pay, crypto, bank transfer and local wallets (per its homepage) | Account sign-up; ID requirements not publicly stated | 200+ countries (per its homepage) | Described as non-VoIP numbers from cellular carriers | Charged only when a code arrives; refunds are credited to balance, with a time limit and amount cap (per its refund policy) | Yes — public API documentation | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| VerifySMS | From $0.10 per number, per its homepage and FAQ (varies by country) | In-app credits; methods not clearly stated on its own site | Not publicly stated on its own site | Stated inconsistently across its pages (figures from 50+ to 150+ countries) | Described as virtual numbers | Automatic credit refund if no SMS arrives in the rental window (per its FAQ) | Not publicly stated | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| VirtualSMS | From $0.05 per activation; rentals from $0.25/day (per its homepage) | Crypto (USDT, BTC, ETH, LTC, BNB), SBP bank payments, USDC for API users (per its homepage and terms) | No ID requirement stated; 18+ (per its terms) | 145+ countries (per its homepage) | Described as real carrier SIM cards, not VoIP | Auto-refund to balance if no SMS within the timeout; deposits generally non-refundable (per its terms) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Quackr | Varies by country and rental length — not stated as a single figure | PayPal, Visa, Mastercard and crypto (per its homepage) | No phone or app needed per its FAQ; other sign-up requirements not publicly stated | 24 countries (per its FAQ) | VoIP (free tier) and non-VoIP (paid), per its FAQ | Replacement within 48 hours; full refund after 2 failed replacements; used numbers excluded (per its refund policy) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| VRNUM | Not publicly stated — no prices on its public pages | Cryptocurrency (BTC, USDT, ETH, LTC) per its terms; its FAQ also mentions other routes | None — email only (per its FAQ and terms) | 6 countries: United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Netherlands, Israel, Ukraine | Described as real mobile numbers, not VoIP | Sales generally final; store credit for listed cases such as no SMS within 24 hours, claimed within 24 hours (per its refund policy) | Yes — REST APIs described in its FAQ | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| SMS-MAN | From $0.16 for a 20-minute number, per its own blog — varies by service | Cards, Apple Pay, crypto and regional wallets (per its help page) | Not publicly stated | 250+ countries (per its help page) | Described as virtual numbers | Cancel for a balance refund if no code; refunds to your payment method by email request in listed cases (per its refund guide) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Tiger SMS | From a few cents, per its homepage — no exact floor stated | Cards, PayPal, AliPay, WeChat Pay, crypto and many e-wallets (per its payments page) | Email only, per its homepage | 260+ countries (per its homepage) | Described as real SIM-card numbers | Auto-refund to balance if no code in 20 minutes; refund requests within 7 days to the original method (per its refund policy) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| OnlineSIM | Not publicly stated — shown per country after sign-up | Not named publicly; its terms mention bank transfer and digital payment methods | Email or social login; its terms reserve the right to request identification | 110+ countries (per its homepage) | Described as virtual, receive-only numbers | No refunds for delivery outcomes; closing a number with no SMS avoids the charge; other refunds case by case (per its refund page) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Grizzly SMS | From $0.092 for one country and service, per its homepage — varies | Cards, online wallets, crypto, PayPal and PaySafeCard; $3 minimum deposit (per its FAQ) | Not publicly stated | 190+ countries (per its FAQ) | Described as virtual phone numbers | Auto-return to balance if no code in 20 minutes; used or banned numbers only if reported within 20 minutes (per its FAQ) | Yes — SMS-Activate-compatible | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| SMSPVA | From $0.01 for some countries, per its homepage (most services from $0.05) | Cards and crypto (per its payment page and site rules) | Registration; no ID requirement publicly stated | 60+ countries (per its homepage) | Offers both real SIM-based and virtual numbers, per its homepage | No refund after activation; claims within 7 days with proof; no withdrawals (per its refund policy and rules) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| TextVerified | From $0.25 per verification (per its homepage) | Cards and crypto (BTC, LTC, ETH, USDC, XMR, USDT) per its FAQ | No ID requirement publicly stated; accurate details and age 13+ (per its terms) | US numbers only (per its FAQ) | Described as non-VoIP numbers from US carriers | Refund if the message doesn't arrive (homepage); otherwise case by case, crypto non-refundable (per its terms) | Yes — public API | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Wabi | From $3.99/month, per its App Store listing (varies by country) | Credit card, Google Play, Apple App Store (per its FAQ) | Not publicly stated; its site says setup needs no paperwork | 30+ countries (website) or 60+ (App Store listing) — stated inconsistently | Described as dedicated virtual numbers, tested with WhatsApp Business | No refunds as a rule; exceptions for WhatsApp validation errors or bans WhatsApp won't lift (per its FAQ) | Not publicly stated | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Hushed | From $6.99/month (Unlimited plan, per its pricing page) | Cards, PayPal, Apple Pay, Google Pay and app stores (per its terms) | No ID requirement stated; 18+, or 13–17 with consent (per its terms) | US, Canada and UK numbers (per its pricing page) | VoIP (its plans are labelled VoIP plans) | Fees non-refundable per its terms; accidental purchases via support; App Store refunds via Apple | No public API found | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Burner | From $7.99/month or $47.99/year (Standard plan, per its pricing page) | Apple App Store, Google Play or web purchase | A main mobile number from the US, Canada or Australia (per its help centre) | US and Canadian numbers; app available in the US, Canada and Australia | VoIP (per its help centre) | Apple purchases via Apple; Google Play and web purchases via support with a receipt | No public API found | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Google Voice | Free for personal use; paid Voice Starter plan from $10/month (per Google's plans page) | Free; Workspace plans billed through Google | Google account plus a phone number that can receive a verification code (per Google's help) | Personal accounts: United States only (per Google's help) | VoIP (not stated by Google; per Wikipedia) | Not publicly stated | No public consumer API found | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| TextNow | Free (ad-supported); paid upgrades such as number lock and ad-free — see its help centre | In-app purchases; other methods not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | US numbers; see its help centre for availability by country | VoIP | Not publicly stated | No public API found | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| TextFree | Free (ad-supported); TextFree Plus $9.99/month (per its homepage) | App stores; other methods not publicly stated | An email address; no ID requirement stated | US or Canadian numbers (per its homepage) | Wi-Fi or data based (VoIP), per its homepage | Not publicly stated | No public API found | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| Twilio | US local number $1.15/month, plus usage (per its US pricing page) | Cards; PayPal in some regions; invoicing for large commitments (per its support pages) | Regulatory bundles (identity and address documents) in many countries; A2P 10DLC registration to send SMS from US local numbers | Numbers in 100+ countries (per its phone-numbers page) | Local (10DLC), toll-free, short code, mobile — varies by country | Not publicly stated | Yes — it is an API platform | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| SMS-Activate (closed) | No longer sold — the service reportedly closed in December 2025 | Not applicable (closed) | Not applicable (closed) | Not applicable (closed) | Varied by operator (until closure) | Reportedly: balances above a minimum could be withdrawn for a limited period; smaller balances only moved to HeroSMS | Yes, until closure | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|
| DaisySMS (closed) | No longer sold — closed on 26 March 2026 (per its website) | Not applicable (closed) | Not applicable (closed) | United States only (until closure) | Marketed as US non-VoIP numbers (until closure) | Balance refunds during the notice period, per third-party reports; none after closure | SMS-Activate-compatible, according to third-party reports (until closure) | 1 Oct 2026 |
|---|